Roku 2 XS: Review (Apple TV vs Roku)

Detailed unboxing and review of the new Roku 2 and how it compares to the Apple TV. UPDATE! Roku now supports iOS and Android remote controls iTunes Link: itunes.apple.com Links: Roku 2 www.roku.com MSRP: Apple TV www.apple.com/appletv MSRP: Amazon Links: Apple TV: amzn.to Roku 2 XS: amzn.to Facebook: www.facebook.com/DetroitBORG Follow me on Twitter: www.twitter.com/DetroitBORG Follow me on Ping: MichaelKukielka Follow me on GameCenter: DetroitBORG E-mail me: mikekukielka@gmail.com Subscribe: www.youtube.com/DetroitBORG

25 Comments

  • Paramdeep Grewal

    15 diciembre, 2012

    then what do we get

  • Malcom Mellon

    15 diciembre, 2012

    Roku is far superior to the Apple TV. However, it’s obvious the reviewer with his plethora of Apple products is bias. He ignorantly misinforms about the so called missing features of Roku. Roku has a Youtube player under a different name. Roku has a LAN media player that plays ANY FORMAT VLC does on windows devices. It also allows internet streaming to smart phones LAN/WAN. As always Apple keeps developers under their thumb. Roku API is open source meaning the possibilities are endless.

  • mowrowflow

    15 diciembre, 2012

    no YouTube? Failing point!

  • laurentio

    15 diciembre, 2012

    ACMI Connector? Mate….come on…

  • covochy

    15 diciembre, 2012

    no youtube!!  bad !!!!!

  • cw95an

    15 diciembre, 2012

    and people are willing to pay $200 for it now because still no JB for ATV3 yet

  • Megangomez21

    15 diciembre, 2012

    Umm, I think I will go for apple tv

  • Eddie Munster

    15 diciembre, 2012

    I feel that this review missed a very important feature of the Roku; private channels. With the Roku, you can get codes from various content providers to install «unofficial» Roku channels. This opens up a VAST amount of potential that apple tv simply doesn’t have. For the record, Youtube IS playable on the Roku, so long as you acquire the appropriate private channel code. Finally, it is worth noting that many of these private channels are free, but you have to search them out online.

  • cannonballkid

    15 diciembre, 2012

    maybe he lives in a laundromat …

  • Yesdnyl99

    15 diciembre, 2012

    Other YouTube videos shows YouTube channels on Roku.

  • coolvid

    15 diciembre, 2012

    Xbox for streaming sucks compared to Roku. I don’t think many people have a grasp on these devices.
    Yes. Roku HAS YOUTUBE…under a different name Videobuzz. And channels are like apps for ur phone…they just keep coming. I love my Roku XS.

  • thecaretakers93

    15 diciembre, 2012

    wow 3 days ago i bought apple tv and ITS AWESOME!!!

  • Pat Rician

    15 diciembre, 2012

    Jesus Christ is your house made out of lint?

  • DavidJasonSoto

    15 diciembre, 2012

    or just wait for Ouya for gaming.

  • aux kala

    15 diciembre, 2012

    thats really funny… i live in sterling heights lol

  • BigBearVids

    15 diciembre, 2012

    If you have a PC (no Mac)  is Apple TV a waste of time ?→ (for streaming content off my PC)

  • david tate

    15 diciembre, 2012

    I have both and use Roku more

  • Chase Andersen

    15 diciembre, 2012

    correct
    

  • AddictedtoGeneralHos

    15 diciembre, 2012

    Soo if I already have an Xbox 360 with Xbox Live, wouldn’t make sense to get this right?

  • Mark Chance

    15 diciembre, 2012

    Really?? were comparing a roku to apple tv?? Well ja i guess there both pieces of shit…. BOXEEBOX!!! ALL DAY!

  • VillainTricks

    15 diciembre, 2012

    It’s supposed to, that’s how they get people to remember the box and name.

  • Sam Everline

    15 diciembre, 2012

    Twit TV, I had to laugh

    Using PS3 media server, or Plex, could I stream stuff from my home network onto the Roku?

    I’ve heard stuff about these programs working.

  • plasterofparisify

    15 diciembre, 2012

    There are lots of converters that will convert .avi to mp4 I am going to test their ease of use and jump in feet first and buy a Roxu 2 XD

    As someone else suggested it might be worth taking a look at what is compatible also to the top comment .mkv is supported.

  • Quintana574

    15 diciembre, 2012

    fuck all these product, I stick with laptop and hdmi

  • sedative3145

    15 diciembre, 2012

    Apple tv is piece of expensive crap