XS Big Dot sight review

After dragging my Glock down the dirt road, the only damage it really suffered was to the sights. I installed my new XS Big Dot sight system, test fired it, and have fallen absolutely in love. I highly recommend these sights, especially for Glock owners, due to the included tools.

25 Comments

  • sm700Blue

    27 noviembre, 2012

    I concur Eric. I’ve been using these on my current carry weapon (Sig 239SAS) for the last year now. I’ve just purchased a G19 (waiting on the FFL transfer), and I’ll most likely put XS big dots on that.

    I have used them in IPSC and maybe I was at a slight dis-advantage, but again, I use my CCW weapon for competition, so that’s fine.

    Primary purpose for my weapons: Self Defence (Civilian CCW).

  • DudeNumberOnePlus

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Heck… If im were US, i would buy them from you.

  • rdean45acp

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Lol u said «front nub» ha ha!

  • rxw394

    27 noviembre, 2012

    i miss the podcast 🙁

  • SouthCarolinaMike

    27 noviembre, 2012

    I actually REALLY like the rear site on the Glock, can you only order the front site for the SX sights? And would only the front XS sight work with the factory rear sights? Thanks

  • bkedp

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Nice review. Honestly, I’m very leery of trying them. Sort of a «if it aint broke don’t fix it» type thing.

  • COMB0RICO

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Thank you for your video!

  • DudeNumberOnePlus

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Whoa, the 2$ tool for 30…

  • 2martins

    27 noviembre, 2012

    xssights work great on my glock 23 but on my walther p99 at 15 yards i have to put the bottom of the rear sight V where the front sight meets the slide. i took them off my walther. i missed a coyote at 40 yards twice today. windage was fine but i splashed mud on his belly because i held the sights like i would if shooting my glock.

  • PeteAA8GK

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Now all we have to do is get you a ‘real’ handgun….. KIDDING!! (I’m an XDM owner). SUPERB video! I think you sold me on these sights. Thanks a lot. Stay safe.

  • goldens984

    27 noviembre, 2012

    What the manufacture wont tell you about these sights . once installed to adjust or remove the sights for any gunsmith work – will in fact destroy them . The sur-lok 1262 solution used to install the sights require heat to melt the bound between the slide and the sight . That much heat kills the tritium vial . Not making this up . I contacted their support and that’s the answer I received .

  • goldens984

    27 noviembre, 2012

    What the manufacture wont tell you about these sights . once installed to adjust or remove the sights for any gunsmith work – will in fact destroy them . The sur-lok 1262 solution used to install the sights require heat to melt the bound between the slide and the sight . That much heat kills the tritium vial . Not making this up . I contacted their support and that’s the answer I received .

  • jroxx11211

    27 noviembre, 2012

    i found that front sight tool on e-bay for $6.99, if you look around, you can get good deals on sights, tools and aftermarket parts, i found an extended take down lever, slide lock, 3.5 pound trigger bar and mag extensions for good deals. ive customized my glock 26 myself besides learning to detail strip my weapon, i love working on my glock as much as i love shooting it.

  • 84HarleyD

    27 noviembre, 2012

    They can be used for some accuracy work as well.

    At 50yds the BigDot covers about the exact size of a 9″ paper plate at that distance. By placing the tip of the vertical rear in the CENTER of the BigDot, then covering the paper plate, I can easily keep all rounds on the plate with my Glock 26. This is from a supported position, of course. Usually my truck’s hood.

    In close quarters IDPA and USPSA competition I’ve found nothing that comes close to them in speed. «Front sight, Press». They rock.

  • mixwell1983

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Just took the leap after watching the 1911 novak rear, dovetail front install video.. I am stoked to get them in and install them. From what I’ve heard, I have seen nothing but good

  • JT hall

    27 noviembre, 2012

    i just ordered mine for the g27 cant wait to get em on, it will take some rds to get used to them but i like having a big dot front site helps me see better

  • moonlighter6

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Thanks for your review, you did an excellent job. My local indoor range has a variety of handguns and sight configurations readily available to try, BUY A BOX OF THEIR AMMO and experiment at your leisure. They also sell the handguns with the various sight configurations, a win-win situation.

    Personally I prefer the Heinie 8 sights, especially when compared to the three dot standard configuration. Of course accuracy is more of a focus for me.

  • waypasthadenough

    27 noviembre, 2012

    seems you replied to the wrong person, or didn’t explain your answer sufficiently well.

    and what exactly is a poppycock? I’ve always wondered…

  • waypasthadenough

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Saw on another forum that these sights, or at least tritium night sights, are so bright when new they’ll show through ‘summer clothing.’

    Snyone have any experience with this?

    I’ve got old night sights on my glock now but never noticed such. But then I didn’t look.

    I usually wear light colored shirts in the summer…

  • nextexhale

    27 noviembre, 2012

    This is great information on the XS big dots. You just about have me convinced to put some on my M&P.

  • glcoklove

    27 noviembre, 2012

    hey man i your vids are very helpfull i just wanna know dos the XS big dot sight rub or hit your hoslters i dont whann damage the sight or my SERPA holster

  • Bullittstable

    27 noviembre, 2012

    I like the standard size dot better than the big dot. Thats just me. They were on a 17L. I would love a big dot on my 33 though. The factory sights dont work well on a short radius. Good review. What model is your glock?

  • INF116

    27 noviembre, 2012

    What was that website that u spoke about in the beggining?

  • joecatsean

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Great review, informative and enjoyable to watch

  • billthesoftballguy

    27 noviembre, 2012

    Well, they have to have something small for concealment so they can move around the casino undetected…